top of page

The Way of the Cross


The First Station
Jesus is condemned to death

What we utter is God's wisdom: a mysterious, a hidden wisdom. God planned it before all ages for our glory. None of the rulers of this age knew this mystery; if they had known it, they would never have crucified the Lord of glory.
(1 Cor. 2:7-8)



The Second Station
Jesus takes up the Cross

Jesus emptied Himself and took the form of a slave, being born in the likeness of men. He was known to be of human estate and it was thus that He humbled Himself, obediently accepting even death, death on a Cross!
(Phil. 2:6-8)



The Third Station
Jesus falls the first time

The word of the Cross is folly to those who are perishing but to us who are being saved it is the power of God…For the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is more powerful than men.
(2 Cor.1:18)



The Fourth Station
Jesus meets His Mother

Christ loved the Church. He gave Himself up for her to make her holy…to present to Himself a glorious Church, holy and immaculate, without spot or wrinkle, or anything of that sort.
(Eph. 5:25-27)



The Fifth Station
Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the Cross

God chose those whom the world considers absurd to shame the wise; He singled out the weak of this world to shame the strong. He chose the world's lowborn and despised, those who count for nothing to reduce to nothing those who were something.
(1 Cor. 1:27-29)



The Sixth Station
Veronica wipes the Face of Jesus

The God who said, "Let light shine out of darkness," has shone in our hearts, that we in turn might make known the glory of God shining on the Face of Christ. 
(2Cor. 4:6)



The Seventh Station
Jesus falls the second time

Continually we carry about in our bodies the dying of Jesus, so that in our bodies the life of Jesus may also be revealed. Death is at work in us, but life in you.
(2 Cor. 10, 12)



The Eight Station
Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

He comforts us in all our afflictions and thus enables us to comfort those who are in trouble, with the same consolation we have received from Him. As we have shared much in the suffering of Christ, so through Christ do we share abundantly in His consolation. 
(2Cor. 1:3-5)



The Ninth Station
Jesus falls the third time

Three times I begged the Lord that this might leave me. But He said to me: My grace is sufficient for you, for in weakness power reaches perfection. So I willingly boast of my weaknesses that the power of Christ may rest upon me…for when I am weak, it is then that I am strong. 
(2 Cor. 12: 8-9, 10b)



The Tenth Station
Jesus is stripped of His garments

You can depend on this as worthy of full acceptance: that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners. Of these, I myself am the worst. But, on that very account I was dealt with mercifully so that in me, Jesus Christ might display all His patience.



The Eleventh Station
Jesus is nailed to the Cross

Even when you were dead in sin…God gave you new life in company with Christ. He pardoned all our sins and canceled the bond that stood against us with all its claims, snatching it up and nailing it to the cross.
(Col. 2:13-14)



The Twelfth Station
Jesus dies on the Cross

If God is for us, who can be against us? Is it possible that He who did not spare His own Son but handed Him over for the sake of us all will not grant us all things besides?
(Rom. 8:31-32)



The Thirteenth Station
Jesus is taken down from the Cross

I have been crucified with Christ and the life I live now is not my own; Christ is living in me. I still live my human life, but it is a life of faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. 
(Gal. 2:19b-20)



The Fourteenth Station
Jesus is laid in the tomb

Are you not aware that we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Through baptism into His death, we were buried with Him so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live a new life. 



The Fifteenth Station
Jesus rises from the dead

He was descended from David according to the flesh, and designated Son of God in power, according to the Spirit of Holiness by His Resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord.
(Rom. 1:3-4)



The Sixteenth Station
Jesus ascends into Heaven

It is said: when He ascended on high, he led a host of captives and He gave gifts to men. In saying, He ascended, what does it mean but that He had also descended into the lower parts of the earth? He Who descended is He who also ascended far above all the heavens, that He might fill all things.
(Eph 4:8-10)



The Seventeenth Station
Jesus sends the Holy Spirit

Christ redeemed us in order that in Christ Jesus the blessing of Abraham might come upon the Gentiles, that we might receive the promise of the Spirit through faith.
(Gal. 3:13-14)

God sent His Son, born of woman, born under the Law to redeem those under the law so that we might receive the adoption of children. Because you are children, God has sent the Spirit of His Son into our hearts crying, "Abba, Father!" So then you are no longer a slave, but a child, and if a child, then an heir.
(Gal. 4:4-7)

bottom of page